PhD Students

Here is the list of our current PhD students, including links to personal websites for their specific research (publications, working papers, and job market papers). For more information about a potential PhD application, please visit our webpage of Prospective PhD. 

Name Research area Supervisors Student email
Jisan Afrin Uma Kambhampati, Samantha Rawlings j.afrin@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Ruqayya Aljifri Simon Burke, James Reade r.m.a.aljifri@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Salman Almutawa Hussein Hassan, Stefania Lovo s.e.a.almutawa@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Alanood Duhaim Alotaibi Simon Burke, James Reade a.d.m.alotaibi@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Reema Altheyab Mark Casson, Simonetta Longhi r.a.m.altheyab@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Seyhan Aygul Alexander Mihailov s.aygul@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Meshael Batarfi Sport Economics, Development Economics James Reade, Mark Casson m.a.m.batarfi@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Anisa Butt Giovanni Razzu, Sarah Jewell, Simonetta Longhi a.k.butt2@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Jim Chen Vivien Burrows, Sarah Jewell j.j.chen@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Grivas Chiyaba Development Economics, Multinational Enterprises Mark Casson, Carl Singleton g.s.chiyaba@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Andrew Clark International Monetary Policy, Dynamic Systems Alexander Mihailov, James Reade andrew.clark@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Waheed Elsharie Stefania Lovo, James Reade zb819772@reading.ac.uk
Nurjihan Idris Sarah Jewell, Simonetta Longhi mg819350@reading.ac.uk
Abdulaleem Isiaka Fiscal Policy, Income Inequality Alexander Mihailov, Giovanni Razzu a.m.isiaka@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Muayad Ismail International Macroeconomics, Monetary Policy James Reade, Joo Young Jeon m.ismail@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Nathan Jones Simon Burke, Shixuan Wang, James Reade n.jones@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Bushan Mohan Uma Kambhampati, Sarah Jewell b.mohan@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Willie Nakunyada Stefania Lovo, Minyan Zhu w.nakunyada@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Kaelo Mpho Ntwaepelo Alexander Mihailov, Mark Guzman k.m.ntwaepelo@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Stephen Opata Monetary Policy, DSGE Models James Reade, Simon Burke s.k.opata@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Wei-Fong Pan Empirical Finance, Labour Economics Simon Burke, Shixuan Wang, James Reade wei-fong.pan@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Philip Ramirez James Reade, Carl Singleton p.ramirez@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Richa Saun Labour Economics, Development Economics Marina Della Guista, Simonetta Longhi richa.saun@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Hafsa Shoukat Defence Economics, Applied Macroeconometrics James Reade, Joo Young Jeon h.shoukat@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Sonia Jan Alam Development Economics Uma Kambhampati, Neha Hui sonia2@pgr.reading.ac.uk
David Spiller Ken Dark, Mark Casson d.m.spiller@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Anurag Srivastava Development Economics, Behavioural Economics Uma Kambhampati, Vivien Burrows a.srivastava@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Adesola Sunmoni Labour Economics, Development Economics Stefania Lovo, Simonetta Longhi a.o.sunmoni@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Elly Twineyo Samantha Rawlings, Stefania Lovo e.r.k.twineyo@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Zain Ul-Abadin Uma Kambhampati, Sarah Jewell z.ul-abadin@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Jemma Underdown Ethnogenesis, Societal Change Ken Dark, Mark Casson j.m.g.underdown@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Ifeatu Uzodinma Behavioural Economics, Development Economics Sophie Clot, Steven Bosworth i.u.uzodinma@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Zhe Wang  Monetary Policy, Unemployment Alexander Mihailov, Giovanni Razzu zhe.wang@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Mengyue Xing (Visiting student) Stefania Lovo mengyue.xing@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Duo Xu DSGE models, European Sovereign Credit Alexander Mihailov, James Reade duo.xu@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Matthew Yeo James Reade, David Marshall m.j.yeo@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Anna Zabrodzka Andi Nygaard (external), Giovanni Razzu qj902409@reading.ac.uk