Cocoa@Reading Webinar

21st June 2022

15:00 to 19:00 BST (UK)
14:00 – 18:00 GMT/UTC | 16:00 – 20:00 CET | 10:00 – 14:00 EST/EDT | 07:00 – 11:00 PST/PDT

The cocoa research group at the University of Reading has gained an international reputation for cocoa research since the early 1980s.

Join us for a live webinar to hear about the latest research from the group and their collaborators, including Q&A sessions.
Note: times given below are BST (UK)

Cocoa@Reading
Webinar Programme

15:00 > Welcome Remarks – Paul Hadley

Session 1
The impact of climate change on cocoa production

15:10 > Climate change program overview – Fiona Lahive
15:20 > CO2 & temperature effects on cocoa –  Julián Mateus-Rodriguez
15:30 > Climate & land surface modelling in cocoa – Emily Black
15:45 > Lipidome & metabolome of cocoa beans – Andreas Dunkel
16:00 > Q&A
16:15 > Break

Session 2
Present and future management of cocoa cultivation
Part I

16:25 > Invited speaker – Philippe Bastide
16:45 > The International Cocoa Quarantine Centre at Reading (ICQC,R) – Andrew Daymond
17:00 > Badnaviruses in cocoa: Distinguishing free viruses from sequences integrated into the genome – Jim Dunwell
17:15 > The International Cocoa Germplasm Database (ICGD) – Chris Turnbull
17:30 > Q&A
17:45 > Break

Part II

17:55 > GCRF cocoa soils project – Lumbani Mwafulirwa
18:10 > Molecular aspects of cadmium accumulation in cacao – Jim Dunwell
18:25 > Vascular & brain impact of cocoa flavanol intake – Jeremey Spencer
18:40 > Q&A
18:55 > Wrap-up

Join on your computer or mobile app
(Using MS Teams. No registration required)

> Click here to join the meeting