The 2022/2023 academic year sees new members joining the leadership teams of the Institute of Education’s (IoE) Postgraduate Research Studies (PhD) programme and Doctorate in Education (EdD) programme.

Professor Naomi Flynn (Professor of Multilingual Education) succeeded Professor Holly Joseph and Dr. Daisy Powell as the new director of the PhD programme.

Supporting Professor Flynn are two Deputy Directors: Dr. Billy Wong (Associate Professor in Widening Participation) who has been in his role as a Deputy Director since 2019, and a new Deputy Director, Dr. Anna Tsakalaki (Lecturer in Education), who succeeded Dr. Natthapoj Vincent Trakulphadetkrai.

Dr. Natthapoj Vincent Trakulphadetkrai (Associate Professor of Mathematics Education) is now the new Deputy Director of the EdD programme. In this role, Dr. Trakulphadetkrai supports the programme’s director, Dr. Karen Jones (Associate Professor of Educational Leadership & Management), in the day-to-day running of the programme.

Both programmes also have a new Postgraduate Research Administrator, Gaby Burford ( who succeeded Sophie Hughes.