Dr Sabrina Cohen-Hatton and Professor Rob Honey from Cardiff University have been named as BBSRC’s Innovator of the year 2018 – awards that celebrate excellent research which has demonstrated impact.

Twelve finalists competed for the title at The Mermaid London on Wednesday 16 May. The awards were presented by Professor Malcolm Skingle, Director of Academic Liaison, GlaxoSmithKline Ltd and Professor Melanie Welham, Executive Chair of BBSRC.

The Chief Executive of the newly formed UK Research and Innovation, of which BBSRC is now a part, Sir Mark Walport, met the finalists before the presentation of awards.

The awards, now in their 10th year, are made in a number of categories that include: commercial impact, social impact, international impact and early career impact.

Read the press release in full on the BBSRC website.